top of page


Shraddha, a Sanskrit term, translates to "faith" or "devotion." It's a significant ritual in Hinduism, Jainism, and Buddhism, where people pay homage to their departed ancestors. This act is believed to not only honor the spirits of the deceased but also provide them with comfort and blessings in the afterlife. Over time, various types of Shraddhas have developed, each with its own unique significance and rituals.

Nitya Shraddha

Nitya Shraddha is a daily practice where a small offering is made to the ancestors. It's a simple yet essential ritual that helps maintain a constant connection between the living and the deceased. This type of Shraddha emphasizes the concept of perpetual respect for ancestors.

Tithi Shraddha

Tithi Shraddha is performed on specific lunar calendar dates that correspond to the date of an ancestor's passing. It's observed annually and involves a more elaborate set of rituals, including offering food, water, and prayers to the departed soul. This type of Shraddha is believed to provide the ancestors with nourishment in the afterlife.

Pinda Shraddha

Pinda Shraddha involves offering rice balls (pinda) to the departed souls. These rice balls symbolize the body and are offered to provide sustenance to the ancestors. It's believed that this act helps the spirits move on to the next realm peacefully and attain liberation (moksha).

Gaya Shraddha

Gaya Shraddha is a significant pilgrimage to the town of Gaya in India. It's believed that by performing Shraddha rituals at the Vishnupad Temple in Gaya, one can provide salvation to ancestors from many generations. The rituals involve offering pinda to the ancestors and seeking their blessings.

Vriddhi Shraddha

Vriddhi Shraddha is performed when a person's age is a multiple of 12. For example, 72, 84, or 96 years of age. This Shraddha is considered particularly important and is believed to grant blessings and growth to the departed soul in the afterlife.

Sapindi Shraddha

Sapindi Shraddha is performed when a family member passes away and the family members are considered impure due to the death. After a period of time, usually ten days, the family members become "sapindas" and regain purity. The Sapindi Shraddha is then performed to provide salvation to the deceased soul.

Ekoddishta Shraddha

Ekoddishta Shraddha is performed when the exact date of death is unknown or unclear. It's a way to ensure that no ancestors are left without receiving the due honors and offerings.

Parvana Shraddha

Parvana Shraddha is performed on special occasions like solar and lunar eclipses, as well as during significant events like the Kumbh Mela. This type of Shraddha is believed to hold extra potency during these auspicious times.

Shraddha is a multifaceted ritual deeply rooted in the traditions of Hinduism, Jainism, and Buddhism. The diverse types of Shraddhas reflect the cultural and religious variations across different regions and communities. Each type of Shraddha serves as a way to remember and honor ancestors, strengthen familial bonds, and offer prayers for the well-being and liberation of the departed souls. Through these rituals, individuals find a way to connect with their ancestry, tradition, and spirituality, fostering a sense of continuity and reverence for those who came before them.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page